Whether you’re a bartender, mixologist, alcohol server or alcohol seller or thinking about starting a career as one here in Texas, it’s important that you have the proper training to adhere to state laws. You also need to acquire your liquor license and Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) certification.
If you are new to the business end of the food and beverage industry—or getting back into the game after some time away—you probably have a host of questions and concerns. Do you really need a liquor permit? How long does it take to get a liquor license? Here’s what you need to know about getting a liquor license in Dallas, TX.
The importance of acquiring a liquor permit
To sell or serve alcohol in Texas, you must first get a liquor permit—but why do you need one? It’s because the TABC wants all alcohol sellers and servers to have credibility, which licensing provides. Alcohol sellers and servers go through a comprehensive training program in order to get a license. The program teaches them liquor laws, the ins and outs of selling and serving alcohol, the legal actions they could face if caught distributing alcoholic beverages to minors and so much more.
There are two types of Texas permits: liquor licenses and beer licenses. And it’s not just restaurants and clubs that have to have them—keep in mind that if you sell or serve alcohol on an airplane, on a train or in a convenience store, for example, you also need to be licensed. Additionally, you’ll need a permit to hold a fundraiser or event where alcohol will be served. The fact is, any permanent or temporary business offering alcohol sales or service has to carry the proper license, and its employees should be TABC-certified.
How to get a license
According to the TABC, it typically takes 45 to 60 days to get a liquor license, and you have to pay applicable license and permit fees. But first, you should sign up for alcohol license training. In Texas, a number of classes are offered at on-site locations as well as online. Completing your training online eliminates long drives and costly fees, making this option perfect for folks who are busy but want to learn a new skill. Get your license after taking training courses in the manner that works best with your schedule!
Texas liquor laws
Many people have commented about Texas’s occasionally confusing liquor laws. In general, a person needs to be 21 years old to drink alcohol, 18 years old to sell or serve alcohol as an employee and the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08. Texas also has wet and dry counties, and counties with a combination of rules, and there are laws concerning the local purchase and drinking of alcohol that apply to these counties as well. Then, there are state laws for transporting open containers, bringing your own alcohol to an event or establishment and consuming alcohol on- and off-premises.
Contact the team at LaBarba Permit Service to learn more about getting a liquor license in Dallas, TX!